Information about the iSAQB CPSA Advanced Level (CPSA-A) exam


Lifetime certification in the field of advanced software architecture

Largest selection of modules from all competence areas in the ITech Academy

We support and advise you on your way to the CPSA Advanced Level (CPSA-A) certificate

Requirements and procedure of the CPSA-A exam
Step 1: Earn 70 credit points from the three competence areas

The CPSA Advanced Level is organized into training modules from the three competence areas of methodology, technology and communication. Each training module teaches specific competencies for which participants then receive corresponding credit points (e.g. 10 CP Technology and 20 CP Methodology). If you can collect a total of 70 credit points from all three competence areas, you may register for the CPSA-A examination. You will normally fulfill this requirement after attending three trainings. For the official certificate of attendance with proof of credit points, your attendance rate at each training must be at least 75%.

Step 2: Verify that you meet all prerequisites

To register for the CPSA Advanced Level exam, you must meet the following prerequisites:

  • Completed the certification “Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Foundation Level (CPSA F®)”.
  •   At least 3 years of full-time professional experience in the IT sector and evidence of contribution in design and development of at least two IT systems.
  •  At least 70 CP from the competence areas of the CPSA-A level
  • Non-disclosure agreement on the CPSA-A examination task
Step 3: Work on the exam task

If you meet all the requirements, register directly with the recognized certification providers for the CPSA Advanced Level exam. You will then receive your exam paper. You will have three months to complete it. It will take about 40 hours of work and the solution must be documented. After your solution has been received by the certification provider on time, it will be reviewed by two examiners.

Step 4: Oral defense of your solution

In an oral defense you present your solution to the examiners. If it is confirmed that you meet all requirements and the examiners find your solution and defense to be good, you will receive the certificate “Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Advanced Level (CPSA-A®)”. The entire exam can be taken in German or English.


The Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Advanced Level (CPSA-A®) is not a professional qualification, but an internationally recognized proof of your advanced skills and knowledge in the field of software architecture.

You can find all 13 training modules from the CPSA Advanced Level in the ITech Academy here.


You have more questions? We will be happy to help you!

Call us at +49 621 595702 41 or send an email to

Customised in-house training required?

You have an entire team that you would like to provide a training for? If no training or workshop from our portfolio fits, we are happy to design tailor-made training courses according to your wishes. We look forward to your inquiry!

Make an inquiry+49 621 595702-41